Module 2 – Diversity in Children’s Literature

Take personal stocktake of my knowledge of children’s literature…

I have a passion for literature of all sorts – especially children’s literature, so I thought (confidently) my knowledge of the different genres would be fairly encompassing but glancing down the list for this module I already realise that perhaps there are a few gaps there!

I know little about LGBTQ, Steam Punk and I think I know quite a bit about Multicultural literature but need to dig a little deeper to see exactly what that entails before I can definitely say I know all about it!

I am really excited about the recent developments in graphic novels, the use of picture story books for older children, the indigenous books arriving on the scene – non-fiction picture story books in this category are excellent.

I love linking the curriculum in with as many different types of genre as possible.  I know about but don’t love the ‘pre-teen’ drama section – Girl Online and Canterbury Tales, erk.  But to not put it into the library would be to censor texts the girls in my school are passionate about – so bring it on!

Strategies which could be used to increases my professional knowledge of children’s literature

The sheer volume of new works being published in any given week means that you have to have a few strategies up your sleeve to know what is hot and what is not!

Hearing it from the best advisors and the wise ones in the world of library (my colleagues) and by scrabbling around the web here is my list:

  • Websites – Inside a dog, GoodreadsHornbookLovereading and A Mighty Girl.  The last one is a great resource to find books which celebrate girls and empower them.  Particularly useful if you work in an all-girls school.
  • CBCA
  • Magazines such as Magpies, School Library Journal, Issu
  • ASLA
  • Local libraries and the wonderful people who populate and work in them.
  • Listservs – Oztlnet
  • Library networks – also teacher networks
  • Pinterest
  • Melbourne writer’s festival and other book festivals
  • School staff – library and teaching staff who often have the best suggestions, some from left field but their diverse interests and reading habits adds to the diversity of our collection and is an asset.
  • Bookshops and promotional stuff
  • Blogs

It’s a long but necessary list to keep you …

About kblaich

I live in Melbourne, Australia, have one lovely husband, one delightful daughter, one bouncy son, lots of pets (2 dogs and 3 cats) and work at a primary school part time. I am currently studying my Masters in Teacher Librarianship through Charles Sturt University.
This entry was posted in ETL 401. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

